Contact us 

The Manitoba government provides several services to help livestock producers protect animal health and prevent economic losses on the farm. The Animal Health and Welfare branch, led by the Chief Veterinary Officer (CVO), provides several services and programs to protect animals, food and people with the technical support and expertise of the Animal Health and Welfare Team. 
 

 

Animal Health and Welfare Team 

 
The Animal Health and Welfare team works with the public to assess the risks related to emerging animal health and welfare issues. They also collaborate with private veterinarians and industry stakeholders, and participate in provincial and national efforts to advance animal health and welfare issues. The Animal Health and Welfare team engages in veterinary practitioner and producer education and outreach activities to facilitate animal health and welfare improvements in the livestock and poultry industries and to support and strengthen the veterinary infrastructure in Manitoba.

General Inquiry:        chiefveterinaryoffice@gov.mb.ca
                                     Phone: 204-945-7663 in Winnipeg
                                     Fax: 204-945-4327

Mailing Address:       Agricultural Service Building
                                    545 University Crescent
                                    Winnipeg, MB R3T 5S6                                     


Animal Health and Welfare Team Contact Number Email
Dr. Scott Zaari
Chief Veterinary Officer
204-945-7685 scott.zaari@gov.mb.ca 
Dr. Glen Duizer
Animal Health Surveillance Veterinarian
204-945-4174 glen.duizer@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Dale Douma
Veterinary Public Health Epidemiologist
204-945-8011 dale.douma@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Neil Pople
Veterinary Diagnostic Services Manager
204-945-7696 neil.pople@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Lisa Joachim
Animal Welfare Veterinarian
204-794-1591 lisa.joachim@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Nicole Sheedy
Animal Welfare Veterinarian
204-380-9077 nicole.sheedy@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Alexandra Jerao
One Health Rabies Operations Veterinarian
431-279-0239 alexandra.jerao@gov.mb.ca
Extension Veterinarian