Faune

Avis aux chasseurs

Le ministère de l’Agriculture et du Développement des ressources sait que la Fédération des Métis du Manitoba a publié un communiqué sur la chasse à l’orignal sur les monts Duck et Porcupine. Nous n’approuvons pas cette récolte illégale et aimerions rappeler à tous les utilisateurs de ressources que les fermetures à des fins de conservation des orignaux restent en vigueur sur les monts Duck et Porcupine (zones de chasse au gibier 18, 18A, 18B, 18C et 13A). Voir la carte des fermetures à des fins de conservation des orignaux ici.

Si chaque communauté autochtone déterminait unilatéralement le nombre d’orignaux pouvant être récoltés et encourageait leurs membres à chasser contrairement au Règlement sur les fermetures à des fins de conservation, cela compromettrait rapidement la durabilité des populations.

Le ministère de l’Agriculture et du Développement des ressources dresse actuellement un plan de gestion partagée des orignaux sur les monts Duck et Porcupine. M. Alistair Bath, un tiers facilitateur indépendant, a été engagé pour aider ce processus. Il travaille actuellement avec les communautés autochtones, les chasseurs détenant un permis et d’autres groupes d’utilisateurs.

Si les populations d’orignaux ont été stabilisées et se rétablissent lentement dans les zones de fermeture à des fins de conservation des monts Duck et Porcupine, elles demeurent fragiles et ne peuvent pas survivre à la chasse non réglementée. Voir les résultats des relevés de populations d’orignaux 2020 ici.

La seule façon de rouvrir raisonnablement et durablement les zones fermées à la chasse à l’orignal consiste à élaborer une approche unifiée de gestion des orignaux axée sur le partage équitable d’une récolte durable totale déterminée par le Ministère, d’après l’information des relevés et les meilleures données scientifiques, et ce, dans le respect des droits des Autochtones de toutes les collectivités. C’est le but de la gestion partagée.

Toute personne prise sur le fait alors qu’elle chasse dans une zone de fermeture à des fins de conservation commet un acte illégal et peut faire l’objet d’accusations et de poursuites judiciaires. Nous espérons que tous les utilisateurs se conformeront à la loi provinciale, respecteront le processus et participeront avec nous à la gestion partagée des ressources pour assurer la conservation des populations d’orignaux pour les futures générations. Si vous voyez toute activité de chasse illégale, veuillez téléphoner au 1 800 782-0076. Residents Portal | Résidents (gov.mb.ca).

Nous devons tous collaborer pour aider à maintenir les populations d’orignaux en santé pour les prochaines générations. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Participation MB et notre document intitulé La vie difficile de l’orignal dans un monde changeanten suivant le lien suivant : L’orignal au Manitoba | ParticipationMB.

AVIS AUX CHASSEURS

À cause du niveau élevé de riposte à la COVID-19 auquel la province est passée, le Manitoba suspend temporairement les exigences relatives aux envois d’échantillons obligatoires pour les chasseurs de wapitis et de cerfs, avec entrée en vigueur immédiate.

Les dépôts n’acceptent PAS d’échantillons de chasseurs pour le moment.

Si vous avez de sérieuses préoccupations concernant la santé d’un animal que vous avez récolté, veuillez composer le 204 638-4570. Vous pouvez obtenir plus de renseignements à https://www.gov.mb.ca/fish-wildlife/wildlife/wildlife-disease/index.fr.html.

Veuillez remarquer que les échantillons de wapitis et de cerfs, récoltés en 2020-2021, soumis volontairement, pourraient être acceptés à l’avenir. On encourage les chasseurs à garder la tête, ou la tête et les poumons, congelés et à les protéger des animaux, s’ils souhaitent faire tester leur récolte.

Veuillez respecter les derniers protocoles de prévention de la COVID-19 en vigueur, consultables à www.manitoba.ca/covid19/index.fr.html

Le Manitoba offre une riche diversité de paysages naturels et d’espèces fauniques, des ours polaires de Churchill to the garter snakes of Narcisse en passant par les orchidées de la prairie à hautes herbes près de Tolstoi. Notre environnement, notre culture, notre économie et notre société sont interdépendants, et nous nous devons de protéger, d’utiliser et de gérer judicieusement nos ressources animales et végétales sauvages.

La Direction de la faune et de la pêche a pour mandat de protéger les ressources fauniques de manière à veiller à la conservation des espèces et des écosystèmes au profit de la population du Manitoba. Elle exerce cette responsabilité conformément à la Loi sur la conservation de la faune, à la Loi sur les espèces et les écosystèmes en voie de disparition et , et à la Loi sur les accords de conservation du Manitoba, et en appliquant les principes de Agriculture et Développement des ressources.

Le personnel chargé de la faune élabore les programmes, les politiques et les lois et règlements visant la chasse et le piégeage,et la gestion de l’habitat sur les terres domaniales et privées. Le personnel chargé de la faune représente également le Manitoba dans de nombreuses initiatives provinciales, nationales et internationales.

Les programmes liés à la faune sont offerts par des biologistes, des planificateurs, des techniciens et du personnel de soutien dans tout le Manitoba. L’application des lois et des règlements sur le terrain est assurée par les agents de conservation.

Plusieurs programmes d’acquisition et de gestion des terres, ainsi que des accords de conservation, sont offerts par une organisation affiliée de la Couronne, la Société protectrice du patrimoine écologique du Manitoba.

go wild

Utilisez-vous un appareil mobile? Si oui, téléchargez l’application convenable et commencez à enregistrer vos observations. C’est aussi simple que ça.

Wildlife

Attention Hunters!

Agriculture and Resource Development is aware of a news release issued by the Manitoba Metis Federation on moose harvesting in the Duck and Porcupine Mountains. We do not support this unlawful harvest and would like to remind all resource users that Moose Conservation Closures remain in effect in the Duck and Porcupine Mountains (Game Hunting Area's 18, 18A, 18B, 18C, and 13A.) See Moose Conservation Closures map here.

If every Indigenous community were to unilaterally decide how many moose could be harvested and encourage their members to hunt in violation of the conservation closure, this would quickly jeopardize the sustainability of populations.

Agriculture and Resource Development is developing a shared moose management plan for the Duck and Porcupine Mountains. Dr. Alistair Bath, a neutral, independent third-party facilitator, has been engaged to assist in this process and is working with Indigenous communities, licenced hunters and other user groups.

Moose populations have stabilized or slowly recovered in conservation closure areas in the Duck and Porcupine Mountains however, they remain fragile and cannot sustain any amount of unregulated hunting. See our 2020 Moose Survey Results here.

The only reasonable and sustainable way to re-open moose hunting is to develop a unified approach to moose management in which a total sustainable harvest determined by the department, based on survey information and the best science available, is shared equitably in a manner that respects the Indigenous rights of all communities. This is the goal of the Shared Management.

Anyone found hunting in conservation closure areas is acting unlawfully and may be charged and prosecuted. We expect all users to abide by provincial law, respect the process and engage with us in shared management to sustain moose populations for future generations. If you see any illegal hunting activity please call the TIP line 1-800-782-0076.

We must all work together to help maintain healthy moose populations for generations to come. For more information, please visit Engage MB and see our document called "Hard to be a Moose" at the following link: https://engagemb.ca/moose-in-manitoba.


ATTENTION HUNTERS

Due to the heightened COVID-19 response level, effective immediately, Manitoba is temporarily suspending the mandatory sample submission requirements for Elk and Deer hunters.

The Drop-Off Depots will NOT accept any samples from hunters at this time.

If you have a serious concern regarding the health of an animal you have harvested, please call 204-638-4570.  More information may be found at www.gov.mb.ca/fish-wildlife/wildlife/wildlife-disease.html

Note that voluntarily submitted samples of Elk and Deer, harvested in 2020-21, may be accepted at a future time. Hunters are encouraged to keep the head, or head and lungs, frozen, and secured from scavenging, if they wish to have their harvest tested.

Please follow the latest COVID-19 protocols found at www.manitoba.ca/covid19/index.html

Night Hunting

On October 9, 2020, The Wildlife Amendment Act (Safe Hunting and Shared Management) was proclaimed, which protects Manitoba’s moose population and creates a safer and more ethical hunting environment.

This Act addresses significant safety risks by prohibiting night hunting in Manitoba. Effective October 10, 2020, night hunting is unlawful for all licensed hunters and on private lands for all hunters.

Rights-based Hunters

In southern Manitoba, rights-based hunters must seek authority to hunt at night on public Crown lands by applying for a free permit. The hunter would be required to carry the permit while hunting at night and must follow all conditions of the permit. Night hunting on private lands will not be permitted.

In northern Manitoba, rights-based hunters may hunt at night subject to requirements under the Act, including the requirement to hunt safely. Hunters are prohibited to hunt within 3 kilometers of a building, occupied site, or provincial roadway.

Safe hunting requirements, including the prohibition on hunting from or across roadways and hunting on private land without permission, continue to apply to all.

Hard to be a Moose in a changing World
Night Hunting Permit Application

Multi-Level Draw Program

New: The draw program is now online.

If you have ever entered the draw since 1996, you already have a personal profile on the system. Please contact the elicensing Help Desk at 1-877-880-1203 to access and verify your personal profile. Your priority level(s) for the draws will be listed on your personal profile.

If you are a first time applicant to the Multi-Level Draw Program, please create your account and personal profile from the E-Licensing Home Page.

Important Draw Dates

Manitoba Big Game Draw Program

Online applications accepted May 1 - May 31 (11:59 pm)
Notification of draw results - June 21
Licence payment deadline - July 15 (11:59 pm)

Manitoba Big Game Draw Program

Manitoba Landowner Elk Draw Program

Online applications accepted May 1 - May 31 (11:59 pm)
Declaration of Lands Owned Deadline - May 18
Notification of draw results - June 21
Licence payment deadline - July 15 (11:59 pm)

Manitoba Landowner Elk Draw Program and Declaration of Lands Owned


Visit Manitoba E-Licensing

Manitoba has a rich diversity of natural landscapes and wildlife species, from the polar bears of Churchill to the garter snakes of Narcisse to the orchids of the tall-grass prairie near Tolstoi. Our environment, culture, economy, and society are interdependent and we must wisely protect, use, and manage our wild animal and plant resources.

The mandate of the Wildlife and Fisheries Branch is to protect wildlife resources in a manner consistent with the conservation of species and ecosystems for the benefit of Manitobans. This responsibility is carried out under the authority of The Wildlife Act, The Endangered Species and Ecosystems Act , and The Conservation Agreements Act of Manitoba, and by applying the principles of Agriculture and Resource Development.

The wildlife staff develops programs, policies and legislation for hunting and trapping, biodiversity conservation, wildlife-human interactions and habitat. The wildlife staff also represents Manitoba in numerous provincial, national, and international initiatives.

Wildlife programs are delivered by biologists, planners, technicians, and support staff throughout Manitoba. Field enforcement is carried out by Conservation Officers.

Several land stewardship and acquisition programs, as well as conservation agreements, are delivered by an affiliated Crown agency, the Manitoba Habitat Heritage Corporation.


go wild

Are you using a mobile device? Then download the app applicable for your device and begin recording your observations. It's that easy.