Pembina Valley Watershed District


Back to Watershed Districts

The Pembina Valley Watershed District is in south-central Manitoba with its southern border adjacent to the Canada – US border stretching from the Red River in the east and includes the Turtle Mountains to the west. Municipal members include the municipalities of Boissevain-Morton, Cartwright-Roblin, Killarney-Turtle Mountain, Prairie Lakes, Argyle, Lorne, Louise, Pembina, Stanley and the City of Morden.

The Pembina Valley Watershed District was established in January of 2020 and took over the mandate of the previous Pembina Valley Conservation District, originally established in 1989. The district is implementing the Pembina Valley Watershed Plan.

Wind and water erosion, loss of fertile topsoil, and water shortages are key issues in the area and the district provides technical and financial assistance to local landowners participating in soil and water conservation programming. The district’s programs include: water retention and small dams, grassed waterways, abandoned well sealing, water testing, forage and salinity seed, gully and streambank stabilization, tree planting, public education and wildlife habitat preservation.

Box 659, 261 Main Street  
Manitou, Manitoba, R0G 1G0
204.242.3267 (P)
204.242.3281 (F)

Map of Pembina Valley Watershed District