East Interlake Watershed District

East Interlake Watershed District Logo

Back to Watershed Districts

The East Interlake Watershed District is north of Winnipeg and includes the western shore of the south basin of Lake Winnipeg and the eastern section of the interlake region. Municipal members include the municipalities of Bifrost-Riverton, Fisher, Grahamdale, Armstrong, Gimli, Rockwood, Rosser, St Andrews, West St Paul, Woodlands, and the towns of Arborg, Stonewall, Teulon, Winnipeg Beach, the City of Selkirk and the Village of Dunnottar.

The East Interlake Watershed District was established in January 2020 and took over the mandate of the previous East Interlake Conservation District, originally established in 2005. The district strives to improve watershed health by working in cooperation with local residents.

The district is implementing integrated watershed management plans for the Icelandic River and Washow Bay Creek, Netley-Grassmere, Willow Creek and Fisher River watersheds. Land and water programming offered by the district focuses on surface water management, water quality protection, groundwater management, the preservation of natural areas, and public education. Conservation programming is directly tied to the unique priorities of each watershed.

Box 1740, 74 First Avenue 
Gimli, Manitoba, R0C 1B0
204.642.7578 (P)
204.642.7581 (F)

East Interlake Watershed District Map