Health Care Statistics

Manitoba Health oversees the performance of the health care system, which is comprised of a broad network of services and programs. The five regional health authorities (RHAs), set up by the province to meet the local needs of Manitobans, are responsible for direct service delivery in their respective regions. As of April of 2013, these regions were the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority, Southern Health-Santé Sud, Interlake‐Eastern Regional Health Authority, Prairie Mountain Health and the Northern Regional Health Authority.

The department collects information on the performance of the health care system as a whole, and is committed to making as much information available as possible. Links to access data are available on each topic here:

Wait Times (including historical data)

Population Health and Health Services Use

Primary Health Care

Continuing Care


In 2016, the Manitoba government hired KPMG to conduct a Health System Sustainability and Innovation Review and provide recommendations on how health services could be more efficient, effective and sustainable in the long term.

The review was conducted in two phases. The first phase provided high-level recommendations, and the second provided more detailed work plans for implementation. This includes changes such as the clinical consolidation in Winnipeg, and the creation of a provincial health organization – Shared Health.

Recommendations from the HSIR, the Peachey report, the Wait Times Reduction Task Force report and recent reviews of EMS services, mental health and home care are being implemented to create a made-in-Manitoba plan for health system transformation.

The Health System Sustainability and Innovation Review was released in its entirety in May 2018. Limited exceptions are related to personal information, pre-estimate decisions and information that could significantly affect relationships with third-party stakeholders.

Final versions:

The HSIR made a number of recommendations that will not be implemented. The report was released in May 2018 as the work of other reviews, most notably the reviews of mental health and wait times, have now been completed.

Those bodies of work – combined with the clinical expertise of those involved in the development of a provincial clinical and preventive services plan – form the foundation for Manitoba’s broader health system transformation.

For more information on health system transformation in Manitoba, visit:

Information from both phases of the Health Sustainability and Innovation Review about initiatives already underway was made available in December 2017. As there were proposals that will not be accepted or implemented, only portions of the report were released:

Partial versions:

Illicit Drug Task Force

On December 18, 2018, the creation of the Illicit Drug Task Force was announced by Health, Seniors and Active Living Minister Cameron Friesen, Winnipeg Mayor Brian Bowman and Robert-Falcon Ouellette, member of Parliament for Winnipeg Centre.

Members of the Illicit Drug Task Force include:

  • Karen Herd (co-chair)
  • Michael Jack (co-chair)

  • Greg Burnett
  • Sel Burrows
  • Réal Cloutier
  • Eric Costen
  • Dr. Rob Grierson
  • Kelly Holmes
  • Dr. Michael Isaac
  • Damon Johnston
  • Rob Lasson
  • Rick Lees
  • Randy Lewis
  • Trevor Myshrall
  • Kim Nicholson
  • Ian Rabb
  • Max Waddell