Swan Lake Watershed District


Back to Watershed Districts

The Swan Lake Watershed District is located along the Saskatchewan border, between the Duck Mountains and the Porcupine Hills, and encompasses an area of approximately 4,200 km2. Member municipalities include Swan Valley West, Minitonas-Bowsman, and Mountain, as well as the Town of Swan River. The district formed in 2006 as the Swan Lake Watershed Conservation District. On January 1, 2020, through proclamation of the Watershed Districts Act, all of Manitoba’s 18 conservation districts transitioned to 14 new watershed districts, with boundaries based on watersheds.

The district delivers incentive based programming to address land and water issues, including stream bank stabilization, grassed waterway construction and repair, abandoned well sealing, well head protection, private well water testing, tree planting, and fisheries and riparian enhancement. The SLWCD plays an important role in environmental education initiatives; it works closely with its local schools and Envirothon team. The watershed district has completed its integrated watershed management plan for the Swan Lake Watershed.

Box 1858, 559-4th Avenue North
Swan River, Manitoba, R0L 1Z0
(204)734-9550 (P)
(204)734-9455 (F)

Swan Lake Watershed District Map