## A Manitoba Hydro

2025 03 14

Ms. Agnes Wittmann Director, Environmental Approvals Branch Manitoba Environment and Climate Change EABDirector@gov.mb.ca

Dear Ms. Wittmann:

## SLAVE FALLS GENERATING STATION – SHORT-TERM EXTENSION LICENCE

We request a renewal of the Short-Term Extension Licence (STEL) for the Slave Falls Generating Station under the provisions of Section 92 of Water Power Regulation 25/88R. We request that the STEL be renewed for a five-year term. The first STEL was issued for a three-year term covering the period from January 1, 2022 to January 1, 2025. The supporting documentation provided at that time is still valid. The second STEL was issued for a one-year term covering the period from January 1, 2025 to January 1, 2026.

Manitoba Hydro requested a Second Renewal Licence on September 12, 2017. Manitoba Hydro intends to submit the technical requirements for completing the Second Renewal Licence for Slave Falls Generating Station within the term of the current STEL.

Manitoba Hydro continues to operate the Slave Falls Generating Station in accordance with the first STEL. Ongoing compliance with the licence is documented in our Annual Water Levels and Flows Compliance Report.

If you have any questions about this matter, please call me at 204-360-3018.

Yours truly,

W.V. Penner, P.Eng Manager, Waterway Approvals and Monitoring Department

WVP/kmm/00104-07311-0025\_00.docx

Ms. Agnes Wittmann 2024 03 14 Page 2

## **DISTRIBUTION LIST**

Chief & Council, Black River First Nation Box 190 O'Hanley, MB ROE 2E0

Chief & Council, Brokenhead Ojibway Nation P.O. Box 180 Scanterbury, MB R0C 1W0

Chief & Council, Hollow Water First Nation Box 2561 Wanipigow, MB R0E 2E0

President, Manitoba Metis Federation 300-150 Henry Avenue Winnipeg, MB R3B 0J7

Chief & Council, Peguis First Nation Box 10 Peguis Reserve, MB ROC 3J0

Chief & Council, Sagkeeng First Nation Box 3 Fort Alexander, MB R0E 2E0

Mayor & Council, Aghaming Community Council Box 2564 Wanipigow, MB R0E 2E0

Mayor & Council, Manigotagan Community Council General Delivery Manigotagan, MB R0E 1E0

Mayor & Council, Incorporated Community of Seymourville Box 2568 Wanipigow, MB R0E 2E0

Mayor & Council, Bissett Community Council Box 30 Bissett, MB R0E 0J0