First Session – Forty-Third Legislature

of the

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba Standing Committee on Public Accounts

Chairperson Mr. Josh Guenter Constituency of Borderland

MANITOBA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY Forty-Third Legislature

| Member | Constituency | Political Affiliation |
|-------------------------|---------------------|-----------------------|
| ALTOMARE, Nello, Hon. | Transcona | NDP |
| ASAGWARA, Uzoma, Hon. | Union Station | NDP |
| BALCAEN, Wayne | Brandon West | PC |
| BEREZA, Jeff | Portage la Prairie | PC |
| BLASHKO, Tyler | Lagimodière | NDP |
| BRAR, Diljeet | Burrows | NDP |
| BUSHIE, Ian, Hon. | Keewatinook | NDP |
| BYRAM, Jodie | Agassiz | PC |
| CABLE, Renée, Hon. | Southdale | NDP |
| CHEN, Jennifer | Fort Richmond | NDP |
| COOK, Kathleen | Roblin | PC |
| CROSS, Billie | Seine River | NDP |
| DELA CRUZ, Jelynn | Radisson | NDP |
| DEVGAN, JD | McPhillips | NDP |
| EWASKO, Wayne | Lac du Bonnet | PC |
| FONTAINE, Nahanni, Hon. | St. Johns | NDP |
| GOERTZEN, Kelvin | Steinbach | PC |
| GUENTER, Josh | Borderland | PC |
| HIEBERT, Carrie | Morden-Winkler | PC |
| JACKSON, Grant | Spruce Woods | PC |
| JOHNSON, Derek | Interlake-Gimli | PC |
| KENNEDY, Nellie | Assiniboia | NDP |
| KHAN, Obby | Fort Whyte | PC |
| KINEW, Wab, Hon. | Fort Rouge | NDP |
| KING, Trevor | Lakeside | PC |
| KOSTYSHYN, Ron, Hon. | Dauphin | NDP |
| LAGASSÉ, Bob | Dawson Trail | PC |
| LAMOUREUX, Cindy | Tyndall Park | Lib. |
| LATHLIN, Amanda | The Pas-Kameesak | NDP |
| LINDSEY, Tom, Hon. | Flin Flon | NDP |
| LOISELLE, Robert | St. Boniface | NDP |
| MALOWAY, Jim | Elmwood | NDP |
| MARCELINO, Malaya, Hon. | Notre Dame | NDP |
| MOROZ, Mike | River Heights | NDP |
| MOSES, Jamie, Hon. | St. Vital | NDP |
| MOYES, Mike | Riel | NDP |
| NARTH, Konrad | La Vérendrye | PC |
| NAYLOR, Lisa, Hon. | Wolseley | NDP |
| NESBITT, Greg | Riding Mountain | PC |
| OXENHAM, Logan | Kirkfield Park | NDP |
| PANKRATZ, David | Waverley | NDP |
| PERCHOTTE, Richard | Selkirk | PC |
| PIWNIUK, Doyle | Turtle Mountain | PC |
| REDHEAD, Eric | Thompson | NDP |
| SALA, Adrien, Hon. | St. James | NDP |
| SANDHU, Mintu | The Maples | NDP |
| SCHMIDT, Tracy, Hon. | Rossmere | NDP |
| SCHOTT, Rachelle | Kildonan-River East | NDP |
| SCHULER, Ron | Springfield-Ritchot | PC |
| SIMARD, Glen, Hon. | Brandon East | NDP |
| SMITH, Bernadette, Hon. | Point Douglas | NDP |
| STEFANSON, Heather | Tuxedo | PC |
| STONE, Lauren | Midland | PC |
| WASYLIW, Mark | Fort Garry | NDP |
| WHARTON, Jeff | Red River North | PC |
| WIEBE, Matt, Hon. | Concordia | NDP |
| WOWCHUK, Rick | Swan River | PC |
| | | |

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA THE STANDING COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

Friday, February 16, 2024

TIME - 12 p.m.

LOCATION - Winnipeg, Manitoba

CHAIRPERSON – Mr. Josh Guenter (Borderland)

VICE-CHAIRPERSON – MLA Jim Maloway (Elmwood)

ATTENDANCE – 10 QUORUM – 6

Members of the committee present:

Mr. Brar, MLA Chen, Ms. Dela Cruz, MLA Devgan, Mr. Guenter, MLAs Kennedy, Khan, Lamoureux, Maloway, Sandhu

MATTERS UNDER CONSIDERATION:

Election of the Chairperson

* * *

The Vice-Chairperson: Good afternoon. Will the Standing Committee on Public Accounts please come to order.

Before we begin our business today, I would like to inform the committee a resignation letter from Mr. Piwniuk as Chairperson and as a member of this committee was received. Mr. Guenter is now the replacement PAC member for the remainder of this legislature.

I would also like to inform the committee that a resignation from Mr. Wharton as a member of this committee was also received, and Mrs. Stone is the replacement PAC member for the remainder of this legislature.

This meeting has been called for the purpose of electing a new Chairperson.

Are there any nominations for this position?

MLA Obby Khan (Fort Whyte): I'd like to nominate MLA Guenter.

The Vice-Chairperson: Mr. Guenter has been nominated.

Are there any other nominations?

Hearing no other nominations, Mr. Guenter is elected Chairperson.

Since this now concludes the business for today's meeting, the hour being 12:02, committee rise.

COMMITTEE ROSE AT: 12:02 p.m.

The Legislative Assembly of Manitoba Debates and Proceedings are also available on the Internet at the following address:

http://www.manitoba.ca/legislature/hansard/hansard.html