

Manitoba

# **THRONE SPEECH**

## PROCEDURE

for the

First Session of the Forty-Third

# MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Tuesday, November 21, 2023

1:30 p.m.

### Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

ALTOWARE Han Nella	NDP	Тионалона
ALTOMARE, Hon. Nello ASAGWARA, Hon. Uzoma	NDP	Transcona Union Station
	PC	Brandon West
BALCAEN, Wayne BEREZA, Jeff	PC PC	
	NDP	Portage la Prairie
BLASHKO, Tyler		Lagimodière
BRAR, Diljeet	NDP	Burrows
BUSHIE, Hon. Ian	NDP	Keewatinook
BYRAM, Jodie	PC	Agassiz
CABLE, Hon. Renée	NDP	Southdale
CHEN, Jennifer	NDP	Fort Richmond
COOK, Kathleen	PC	Roblin
CROSS, Billie	NDP	Seine River
DELA CRUZ, Jelynn	NDP	Radisson
Devgan, JD	NDP	McPhillips
EWASKO, Wayne	PC	Lac du Bonnet
FONTAINE, Hon. Nahanni	NDP	St. Johns
GOERTZEN, Kelvin	PC	Steinbach
GUENTER, Josh	PC	Borderland
HIEBERT, Carrie	PC	Morden-Winkler
JACKSON, Grant	PC	Spruce Woods
JOHNSON, Derek	PC	Interlake-Gimli
KENNEDY, Nellie	NDP	Assiniboia
KHAN, Obby	PC	Fort Whyte
KINEW, Hon. Wab	NDP	Fort Rouge
KING, Trevor	PC	Lakeside
KOSTYSHYN, Hon. Ron	NDP	Dauphin
LAGASSÉ, Bob	PC	Dawson Trail
LAMOUREUX, Cindy	LIB	Tyndall Park
LATHLIN, Amanda	NDP	The Pas-Kameesak
LINDSEY, Hon. Tom	NDP	Flin Flon
LOISELLE, Robert	NDP	St. Boniface
Maloway, Jim	NDP	Elmwood
MARCELINO, Hon. Malaya	NDP	Notre Dame
Moroz, Mike	NDP	River Heights
MOSES, Hon. Jamie	NDP	St. Vital
MOYES, Mike	NDP	Riel
NARTH, Konrad	PC	La Vérendrye
NAYLOR, Hon. Lisa	NDP	Wolseley
NESBITT, Greg	PC	Riding Mountain
OXENHAM, Logan	NDP	Kirkfield Park
OAEMIAN, LOgan		

PANKRATZ, David	NDP	Waverley
PERCHOTTE, Richard	PC	Selkirk
PIWNIUK, Doyle	PC	Turtle Mountain
REDHEAD, Eric	NDP	Thompson
SALA, Hon. Adrien	NDP	St. James
SANDHU, Mintu	NDP	The Maples
SCHMIDT, Hon. Tracy	NDP	Rossmere
SCHOTT, Rachelle	NDP	Kildonan-River East
SCHULER, Ron	PC	Springfield-Ritchot
SIMARD, Hon. Glen	NDP	Brandon East
SMITH, Hon. Bernadette	NDP	Point Douglas
STEFANSON, Heather	PC	Tuxedo
STONE, Lauren	PC	Midland
WASYLIW, Mark	NDP	Fort Garry
WHARTON, Jeff	PC	Red River North
WIEBE, Hon. Matt	NDP	Concordia
WOWCHUK, Rick	PC	Swan River

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Mr. Rick Yarish, Deputy Clerk Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant Mr. Tim Abbott, Clerk Assistant Ms. Katerina Tefft, Clerk Assistant Ms. Vanessa Gregg, Clerk Assistant Mr. Dave Shuttleworth, Sergeant-at-Arms Mr. Cam Steel, Deputy Sergeant-at-Arms

#### THRONE SPEECH PROCEDURE FOR THE FIRST SESSION OF THE FORTY-THIRD LEGISLATURE November 21, 2023

- 1. Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor, the Honorary Aide-de-camp, the Premier, the Chief Justice and the Private Secretary meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All Members of the Legislative Assembly proceed to their seats in the Chamber and remain standing. All Members of the Legislative Assembly participating virtually must remain seated.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Speaker, the Deputy Clerk, the Clerk Assistants and the Pages enter the Chamber.
- 4. The Drummers drum as Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aidede-camp, the Premier, the Chief Justice and the Private Secretary, enter the Chamber and the Lieutenant Governor takes her seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Private Secretary delivers the Throne Speech to Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor.
- 6. Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor will say, "PLEASE BE SEATED" and then read the Throne Speech.
- 7. After completion of the Throne Speech, Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING

Drumming commences. When drumming concludes, Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor, accompanied by the Honorary Aide-de-camp, the Premier, the Provincial Court Judges and the Private Secretary, proceed towards the North doors of the Chamber.

Prior to their exiting the Chamber, "God Save the King" and "O Canada" will be sung.

- 8. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and reads the Prayer and the Land Acknowledgement.
- 9. The Premier moves:

"THAT Bill (No. 1) – An Act respecting the Administration of Oaths of Office/Loi sur la prestation des serments d'entrée en fonction, be now read a First Time."

- 10. The Premier moves the appointment of a Chairperson of the Committees of the Whole House and Deputy Speaker.
- 11. The Premier moves the appointment of the Deputy Chairpersons of the Committees of the Whole House.
- 12. The Premier moves:

"THAT the Speech of Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor be taken into consideration tomorrow."

### 13. The Premier moves:

"THAT this House do now adjourn."

### 14. ALL MEMBERS AND GUESTS STANDING.

The Speaker, preceded by the Sergeant-at-Arms and followed by the Clerks and Pages, exits the Chamber.