

OPENING DAY PROCEDURE

for the

First Session of the Forty-Third

MANITOBA LEGISLATURE

Thursday, November 9, 2023

1:30 p.m.

Legislative Assembly of Manitoba

NDP ALTOMARE, Hon. Nello Transcona **NDP** Union Station ASAGWARA, Hon. Uzoma PC BALCAEN, Wayne Brandon West BEREZA, Jeff PC Portage la Prairie Lagimodière BLASHKO, Tyler **NDP** BRAR, Diljeet **NDP** Burrows BUSHIE, Hon. Ian **NDP** Keewatinook PC BYRAM, Jodie Agassiz CABLE, Hon. Renée **NDP** Southdale Fort Richmond CHEN, Jennifer **NDP** COOK, Kathleen PC Roblin CROSS, Billie **NDP** Seine River DELA CRUZ, Jelynn **NDP** Radisson DEVGAN, JD **NDP McPhillips** EWASKO, Wayne PC Lac du Bonnet FONTAINE, Hon. Nahanni **NDP** St. Johns GOERTZEN, Kelvin PC Steinbach **GUENTER**, Josh PC Borderland PC Morden-Winkler HIEBERT, Carrie PC Spruce Woods JACKSON, Grant PC Interlake-Gimli JOHNSON, Derek KENNEDY, Nellie **NDP** Assiniboia PC Fort Whyte KHAN, Obby KINEW, Hon. Wab **NDP** Fort Rouge KING, Trevor PC Lakeside KOSTYSHYN, Hon. Ron **NDP** Dauphin PC LAGASSÉ, Bob Dawson Trail LAMOUREUX, Cindy LIB Tyndall Park The Pas-Kameesak LATHLIN, Amanda **NDP** Flin Flon LINDSEY, Tom **NDP** LOISELLE, Robert **NDP** St. Boniface **NDP** Elmwood MALOWAY, Jim **NDP** Notre Dame MARCELINO, Hon. Malaya **NDP** River Heights MOROZ, Mike **NDP** St. Vital Moses, Hon. Jamie MOYES, Mike **NDP** Riel NARTH, Konrad PC La Vérendrye NAYLOR, Hon. Lisa **NDP** Wolseley PC NESBITT, Greg Riding Mountain OXENHAM, Logan NDP Kirkfield Park

PANKRATZ, David	NDP	Waverley
PERCHOTTE, Richard	PC	Selkirk

PIWNIUK, DoylePCTurtle MountainREDHEAD, EricNDPThompsonSALA, Hon. AdrienNDPSt. JamesSANDHU, MintuNDPThe MaplesSCHMIDT, Hon. TracyNDPRossmere

SCHOTT, Rachelle NDP Kildonan-River East SCHULER, Ron PC Springfield-Ritchot Brandon East SIMARD, Hon. Glen **NDP** SMITH, Hon. Bernadette NDP Point Douglas STEFANSON, Heather PC Tuxedo PC Midland STONE, Lauren WASYLIW, Mark NDP Fort Garry PC Red River North WHARTON, Jeff

WIEBE, Hon. Matt NDP Concordia
WOWCHUK, Rick PC Swan River

Officers in the service of the Legislative Assembly

Mr. Rick Yarish, Deputy Clerk

Mr. Greg Recksiedler, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Tim Abbott, Clerk Assistant

Ms. Katerina Tefft, Clerk Assistant

Ms. Vanessa Gregg, Clerk Assistant

Mr. Dave Shuttleworth, Sergeant-at-Arms

Mr. Cam Steel, Deputy Sergeant-at-Arms

ELECTION OF SPEAKER FOR THE FIRST SESSION OF THE FORTY-THIRD LEGISLATURE November 9, 2023

- 1. The Premier and Honorary Aides-de-camp meet in the Lieutenant Governor's reception room.
- 2. All **Members of the Legislative Assembly** proceed to their seats in the Chamber and **remain standing**.
- 3. At 1:30 p.m. the Sergeant-at-Arms followed by the Deputy Clerk and the Clerk Assistants enter the Chamber.
- 4. Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes her seat on the Throne.
- 5. The Attorney General informs the House that Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor is not prepared to present the Throne Speech until a Speaker has been elected.
- 6. Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire followed by the Honorary Aides-de-camp and the Premier. **ALL MEMBERS STANDING.**
- 7. The Election of Speaker is conducted by the Deputy Clerk of the Legislative Assembly.
- 8. The newly elected Speaker is escorted by the Premier and the Leader of the Official Opposition where they are invested with the robes of office. The Speaker returns thanks to the House.
- 9. Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor, accompanied by the Honorary Aides-de-camp and the Premier enters the Chamber and takes her seat on the Throne.
- 10. The Speaker addresses the Lieutenant Governor.
- 11. The Attorney General indicates to the House that Her Honour, the Lieutenant Governor, will declare the causes of calling this Legislative Assembly on Tuesday, November 21 at 1:30 p.m.
- 12. Her Honour the Lieutenant Governor will rise from the Throne to retire followed by the Honorary Aides-de-camp and the Premier. **ALL MEMBERS STANDING.**
- 13. The Speaker proceeds to the Throne and adjourns the House until 1:30 p.m on Tuesday, November 21, 2023.