

PRAYER

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mr. SMOOK – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (V. Verrrier, D. Dundos, D. Harel and others)

Mr. GOERTZEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Education consider making funding available to eliminate the current waiting list for ABA school age services and fund ABA Services for individuals diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder. (E. Burelle, G. Carriere, C. Sawatzky and others)

Mr. WISHART – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (I. Patterson, B. Wolfrem, D. McKee and others)

Mr. EWASKO – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation recognize that Cape Coppermine Road can no longer adequately serve both area residents and tourists and as such consider making improvements to the road to reflect its current use. (B. Osis, R. Curtis, G. Arseny and others)

Mr. PEDERSEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge that the Minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro create a complete and transparent "Needs For And Alternatives To" review of Manitoba Hydro's total capital development plan to ensure the financial viability of Manitoba Hydro. (R. Loeppky, D. Crealock, E. Falk and others)

Mrs. DRIEDGER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Family Services and Labour consider making funding available to address the current waiting list for ABA Services. (J. Sabourin, T. Dyck, G. Unger and others)

Mr. CULLEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Family Services and Labour consider making funding available to address the current waiting list for ABA Services. (A. Barbosa, R. Ramirez, V. Neufeld and others)

Mr. EICHLER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (E. Hall, M. Pull, S. Bennett and others)

Mrs. STEFANSON – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Family Services and Labour consider making funding available to address the current waiting list for ABA Services. (R. Quillez, S. Clair, T. Vita and others)

Mr. MAGUIRE – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (L. Haskett, H. Kyle, W. Gabrielle and others)

Mr. BRIESE – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Education consider making funding available to eliminate the current waiting list for ABA school age services and fund ABA Services for individuals diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder. (G. Lozano, M. De Guzman, J. Capistrano and others)

Mrs. MITCHELSON – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Education consider making funding available to eliminate the current waiting list for ABA school age services and fund ABA Services for individuals diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder. (M. Tran, D. Nguyen, D. Malegus others)

Mr. HELWER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Family Services and Labour consider making funding available to address the current waiting list for ABA Services. (M. Hudcovic, A. Singh Babro, N. Holnes and others)

Mr. SCHULER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Education consider making funding available to eliminate the current waiting list for ABA school age services and fund ABA Services for individuals diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder. (W. LeBlanc, B. Djoranovic, K. Girden and others)

Mr. FRIESEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Family Services and Labour consider making funding available to address the current waiting list for ABA Services. (R. White, C. Osborne, C. Bolinski and others)

Mr. GRAYDON – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to acknowledge that the increase in the PST will significantly encourage cross border shopping and put additional strain on the retail sector, especially for those businesses located close to Manitoba's provincial borders and to urge the Provincial Government to reverse its PST increase to ensure Manitoba consumers can shop affordably in Manitoba and support local businesses. (L. Abrams, C. Hamm, T. Klassen and others)

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Mr. CULLEN, Ms. BLADY, Mr. MAGUIRE, Hon. Ms. ALLAN and Hon. Mr. GERRARD made Members' Statements.

The Order of the Day having been read for consideration of Report Stage Amendment of Bill (No. 20) – The Manitoba Building and Renewal Funding and Fiscal Management Act (Various Acts Amended)/Loi sur le financement du renouvellement des infrastructures et la gestion financière (modification de diverses dispositions législatives), reported from the Standing Committee on Social and Economic Development:

Mr. CULLEN moved:

THAT Bill 20 be amended by adding the following after Clause 4(4):

4(4.1) The following is added after subsection 11(3):

Referendum cost disclosed

11(3.1) The government shall estimate the cost of conducting a referendum and disclose this information to Manitobans during the annual provincial budget consultation process.

And a debate arising,

Mr. CULLEN, Mrs. DRIEDGER, Messrs. WISHART and EICHLER, Hon. Mr. STRUTHERS and Mr. SCHULER having spoken,

And the Question being put on the amendment. It was negatived, on division.

Mr. CULLEN then moved:

THAT Bill 20 be amended by replacing Clause 5(3) with the following:

Coming into force — sections 3 and 4 Sections 3 and 4 come into force on a day to be fixed by proclamation.

And a debate arising,

Mr. CULLEN having spoken,

And the Question being put on the amendment. It was negatived, on the following division:

YEA

BRIESE	MAGUIRE
Driedger	MITCHELSON
Eichler	Pedersen
Ewasko	Rowat
Friesen	SCHULER
Gerrard	Smook
GOERTZEN	STEFANSON
GRAYDON	WISHART17
Helwer	

A = =	
ALLAN	Mackintosh
ALLUM	MALOWAY
Altemeyer	MELNICK
ASHTON	NEVAKSHONOFF
BJORNSON	OSWALD
BLADY	Pettersen
BRAUN	ROBINSON
CHIEF	RONDEAU
Сноміак	SARAN
CROTHERS	SELBY
DEWAR	SELINGER
GAUDREAU	STRUTHERS
HOWARD	SWAN
JHA	WHITEHEAD
Kostyshyn	WIGHT
Lemieux	

NAY

The House then adjourned at 5:03 p.m. until 10:00 a.m. Thursday, August 15, 2013.

Hon. Daryl REID, Speaker.