

## LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS No. 63

### SECOND SESSION, FORTIETH LEGISLATURE

PRAYER 1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mr. EWASKO – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (K. Tymko, J. Guiboche, N. Jack and others)

Mrs. DRIEDGER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (S. Hatton, J. Loewen, J. Hall and others)

Mr. GOERTZEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (D. Enns, H. D. Kehler, J. Giesbrecht and others)

Mr. WISHART – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (D. Patterson, C. Prince, W. Furga and others)

Mr. PEDERSEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (J. Bartkiw, D. Miller, L. Lepischak and others)

Mr. Cullen – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (L. Berry, D. Coleman, L. Yarycky and others)

Mr. EICHLER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (M. Spletzer, J. Feist, R. Spletzer and others)

Mrs. STEFANSON – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (S. King, V. Berube, M. Irvine and others)

Mr. MAGUIRE – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (H. Trainor, M. Girdue, K. Budd and others)

Mr. BRIESE – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation to consider making the installation of traffic lights at the intersection of PTH 16 and PTH 5 North a priority project in order to help protect the safety of the motorists and pedestrians who use it. (L. Kirby, R. Kilbury, C. Anderson and others)

Mrs. MITCHELSON – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (L. Posthumus, J. Bowers, D. Yustak and others)

Mr. Helwer – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (V. Hill, R. Breen, K. Pluckinsky and others)

Mr. SCHULER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (C. Stafford, A. Halconsser, C. Glourchi and others)

Mr. SMOOK – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (S. Bart, L. C. Forsyth, L. Grant-Braybrook and others)

Mr. FRIESEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (R. Zelkis, D. Scaletta, A. van de Viysel and others)

Mr. Graydon – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (D. Thain, L. Fox, C. Fox and others)

Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK presented:

Samularia de la Taria de la Carta de la Ca

Supplementary Information for Legislative Review 2013-2014 – Departmental Expenditure Estimates – Innovation, Energy and Mines.

(Sessional Paper No. 70)

\_\_\_\_\_\_

Hon. Mr. RONDEAU presented:

Supplementary Information for Legislative Review 2013-2014 – Departmental Expenditure Estimates – Healthy Living, Seniors and Consumer Affairs.

\_\_\_\_\_

(Sessional Paper No. 71)

During Oral Questions, Hon. Ms. HOWARD rose on a point of order stating that questions should not be asked of Government backbenchers.

And Mr. GOERTZEN having spoken to the point of order,

WHEREUPON Mr. Speaker ruled that there was a point of order.

From his decision, Mr. GOERTZEN appealed to the House,

And the Question being put, "Shall the ruling of the Chair be sustained?" It was agreed to, on the following division:

#### **YEA**

| ALLAN ALLUM ALTEMEYER ASHTON BJORNSON BLADY BRAUN CALDWELL CHIEF CHOMIAK CROTHERS DEWAR GAUDREAU GERRARD HOWARD IRVIN-ROSS JHA | KOSTYSHYN LEMIEUX MACKINTOSH MALOWAY MARCELINO (Logan) MARCELINO (Tyndall Park) MELNICK NEVAKSHONOFF OSWALD ROBINSON RONDEAU SARAN SELINGER STRUTHERS SWAN WIEBE WIGHT |
|--|--|
| NAY  |  |
| BRIESE CULLEN DRIEDGER EICHLER EWASKO FRIESEN GOERTZEN GRAYDON HELWER  | MAGUIRE MITCHELSON PALLISTER PEDERSEN SCHULER SMOOK STEFANSON WISHART  |

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Ms. BLADY, Messrs. GRAYDON and PETTERSEN, Mrs. STEFANSON and Ms. WIGHT made Members' Statements.

\_\_\_\_\_

# Monday, June 24, 2013

| The House resolved into Committee of Supply.                      |                              |
|---|------------------------------|
| The House then adjourned at 6:01 p.m. until 10:00 a.m. Tuesday, J | une 25, 2013.                |
|   | Hon. Daryl REID,<br>Speaker. |