

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS No. 54

SECOND SESSION, FORTIETH LEGISLATURE

PRAYER 10:00 O'CLOCK A.M.

The House resumed the Interrupted Debate on the Proposed Motion of Mrs. STEFANSON:

THAT Bill (No. 202) – The Increased Transparency and Accountability Act (Various Acts Amended)/Loi sur la transparence et la responsabilité (modification de diverses dispositions législatives), be now read a Second Time and be referred to a Committee of this House.

And the debate continuing,

And Mr. DEWAR, Mrs. ROWAT, Hon. Mr. ASHTON, Mr. MAGUIRE, Ms. BLADY and Mr. SCHULER having spoken,

And Hon. Mr. BJORNSON speaking at 11:00 a.m. The debate was allowed to remain in his name.

Mr. HELWER moved:

Resolution No. 14: Support for Manitoba Hydro Power Smart Program

WHEREAS in 1991 Manitoba Hydro unveiled their Power Smart program to conserve electricity; and

WHEREAS the Power Smart program has reduced annual generation requirements by 577 megawatts over its lifetime; and

WHEREAS the 2011 Power Smart program plan targets reducing generation demand by 329 megawatts over the next 15 years; and

WHEREAS the Public Utilities Board urged Manitoba Hydro to incorporate higher energy efficiency goals into the Power Smart program and to maintain or increase its financial support for the program.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba commend Manitoba Hydro for their innovative Power Smart programs that improve Manitoba's environmental sustainability; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba urge Manitoba Hydro to continue to invest in the Power Smart program; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba urge Manitoba Hydro to cancel its \$750,000 advertising campaign and redirect those funds to Power Smart programming.

And a debate arising,

And Mr. HELWER, Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK and Messrs. PEDERSEN, GAUDREAU and SCHULER having spoken,

And Mr. MALOWAY speaking at 12:00 p.m. The debate was allowed to remain in his name.

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mr. WISHART – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (J. Hutchinson, S. Hughes, L. Hunnam and others)

Mr. EWASKO – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (R. Dufily, D. Stefiuk, R. Stefiuk and others)

Mrs. ROWAT— Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (E. Thompson, H. Boucher, A. Arran and others)

Mr. PEDERSEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (H. Fleming, E. Smadelle, K. Katchur and others)

Mrs. DRIEDGER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (L. De La Fuente, L. De La Fuente, E. Trawon and others)

Mrs. MITCHELSON – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (K. Rodgers, H. Guenther, K. Philipchok and others)

Mr. SMOOK – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (D. Fournier, D. Baker, S. Mackinder and others)

Mr. SCHULER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (R. Harper, D. Cooper, J. Alexander and others)

Mrs. STEFANSON – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (J. Dauk, L. Essex, L. Baker and others)

Mr. MAGUIRE – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (D. Boulanger, A. Frank, J. Wilson and others)

Mr. BRIESE – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (A. Lee, H. Campbell, J. Buick and others)

Mr. FRIESEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (C. McTavish, P. Baker, D. Stapleton and others)

Mr. Helwer – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (S. Stewart, B. Chartrand, S. Romanceur and others)

Mr. GOERTZEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (P. Siemens, R. Friesen, H. Toews and others)

Mr. Cullen – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge that the Minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro create a complete and transparent "Needs For And Alternatives To" review of Manitoba Hydro's total capital development plan to ensure the financial viability of Manitoba Hydro. (F. Wayte, K. LaLonde, J. Rolfe and others)

During Oral Questions, Mr. GOERTZEN rose on a point of order regarding the quality of answers provided by Members in question period.

And Hon. Ms. HOWARD having spoken to the point of order,

WHEREUPON Mr. Speaker ruled that there was no point of order.

From his decision, Mr. GOERTZEN appealed to the House,

And the Question being put, "Shall the ruling of the Chair be sustained?" It was agreed to, on the following division:

YEA

ALLAN	MACKINTOSH					
ALLAN ALTEMEYER	MALOWAY					
ASHTON	MARCELINO (Logan)					
BJORNSON	MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)					
BLADY	MELNICK					
BRAUN	NEVAKSHONOFF					
CALDWELL	OSWALD					
CHIEF	PETTERSEN					
Сноміак	ROBINSON					
CROTHERS	RONDEAU					
DEWAR	SARAN					
GAUDREAU	SELINGER					
Howard	STRUTHERS					
IRVIN-ROSS	SWAN					
Jна	WIEBE31					
LEMIEUX						
NAY						
Briese	Maguire					
CULLEN	MITCHELSON					
Driedger	PEDERSEN					
EWASKO	ROWAT					
FRIESEN	SCHULER					
GERRARD	SMOOK					
GOERTZEN	STEFANSON					
HELWER	WISHART16					
Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Ms. BLADY, Mr. BRIESE, Ms. CROTHERS and Messrs. WISHART and JHA made Members' Statements.						
In accordance with Rule 31(9), the Opposition House Leader announced that the Decade of Mismanagement within Manitoba's Child Welfare System Resolution will be considered next Thursday, June 13, 2013.						
In accordance with Rule 27, Mr. WISHART rose on a Grievance.						

Thursday, June 6, 2013

	The House res	solved into Comr	mittee of Supp	oly. The Pro	oceedings w	vere interrupte	d at 5:00	p.m
with th	e understanding	that the Commit	ttee of Supply	would resun	ne Friday, Jı	une 7, 2013 at	10:00 a.m	l .

The House then adjourned at 12:31 p.m. Friday, June 7, 2013 until 1:30 p.m. Monday, June 10, 2013.

Hon. Daryl REID, Speaker.