

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS No. 43

SECOND SESSION, FORTIETH LEGISLATURE

PRAYER 10:00 O'CLOCK A.M.

In accordance with Rule 31(9), the Opposition House Leader announced that the 4-H Resolution will be considered next Thursday, May 23, 2013.

The House resumed the Interrupted Debate on the Proposed Motion of Mr. GRAYDON:

THAT Bill (No. 201) – The Regulatory Accountability and Transparency Act/Loi sur la responsabilité et la transparence en matière réglementaire, be now read a Second Time and be referred to a Committee of this House.

And the debate continuing,

And Messrs. WIEBE, SMOOK, GAUDREAU, EWASKO, MALOWAY and ALTEMEYER having spoken,

And Mr. DEWAR speaking at 11:00 a.m. The debate was allowed to remain in his name.

Mr. CULLEN moved:

Resolution No. 8: Integrity of the Finance Minister

WHEREAS the Minister of Finance and his government misled the people of Manitoba in 2011 when he promised not to raise taxes; and

WHEREAS the Minister of Finance promised to balance the Budget by 2014 and broke his promise; and

WHEREAS the Court of Queen's Bench ruled that the Minister of Finance acted illegally by refusing to comply with the Pari-Mutuel Levy Act.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba acknowledge that the people of Manitoba have lost faith in the honesty and integrity of the Minister of Finance; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba urge the Premier to remove the Minister of Finance from his cabinet.

And a debate arising,

And Mr. Cullen, Hon. Mr. Struthers, Mr. Eichler, Hon. Ms. Howard and Messrs. Graydon, Nevakshonoff and Goertzen having spoken,

And the Question being put. It was negatived, on the following division:

YEA

Briese	MAGUIRE	
CULLEN	MITCHELSON	
Driedger	PALLISTER	
EICHLER	PEDERSEN	
EWASKO	ROWAT	
FRIESEN	SCHULER	
Gerrard	SMOOK	
GOERTZEN	STEFANSON	
GRAYDON	WISHART	19
HFI WFR		

NAY

ALLAN	MACKINTOSH
ALLUM	MALOWAY
ALTEMEYER	MARCELINO (Logan)
ASHTON	MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)
BJORNSON	MELNICK
BLADY	NEVAKSHONOFF
CHIEF	OSWALD
Сноміак	RONDEAU
CROTHERS	SARAN
DEWAR	SELBY
Gaudreau	SELINGER
HOWARD	STRUTHERS
IRVIN-ROSS	SWAN
ЈНА	WHITEHEAD
Kostyshyn	WIEBE31
Lemieux	

1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mr. GOERTZEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (S. Gillingham, H. Gillingham, O. Straud and others)

- Mr. WISHART Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the appropriate Ministers of the Provincial Government consider repairing St. Ambroise Provincial Park and its access points to their preflood conditions so the park can be re-opened for the 2013 season or earlier if possible. (L. Kiesman, J. Monchalin, K. Sorenson and others)
- Mr. EWASKO Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (L. Boleschuk, L. Hnatyshyn, W. Groinus and others)
- Mr. PEDERSEN Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to build the Bipole III transmission line on the shorter, more reliable east side of Lake Winnipeg route, in order to save Manitobans from a "BILLION DOLLAR BOONDOOGLE". (G. Theroux, R. Bazin, R. Philipot and others)
- Mr. GRAYDON Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (D. Truchil, T. Pow, J. Pow and others)
- Mr. BRIESE Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request the Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation to consider upgrading the Ring Dike Road at Ste. Rose du Lac into a Provincial Road and to request the Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation to consider upgrading the Ring Dike Road at the same time that work is being done at the junction of PTH 68 and PTH 5. (G. Malcolm, E. Desjarlais, V. Malcolm and others)
- Mrs. DRIEDGER Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (R. Gray, J. Gray, L. Miller and others)
- Mrs. MITCHELSON Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (N. Leitch, L. Beck, C. McIntosh and others)
- Mr. SMOOK Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (E. Griffin-Boily, M. Spence, J. Surdersley and others)
- Mr. CULLEN Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge that the Minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro create a complete and transparent "Needs For And Alternatives To" review of Manitoba Hydro's total capital development plan to ensure the financial viability of Manitoba Hydro. (D. Jones, M. Smyk, J. Harrison and others)
- Mr. EICHLER Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (S. Warren, S. Walker, D. Danebrock and others)
- Mr. FRIESEN Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (H. Mueller, H. Schroeder, E. Dew and others)
- Mr. Helwer Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (J. Berry, B. Berry, J. Stefanson and others)

Thursday, May 16, 2013

Mr. MAGUIRE – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (C. Unger, G. Koop, A. Price and others)

Mrs. STEFANSON – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (W. Friesen, D. Letkeman, E. Thiessen and others)

Mrs. ROWAT – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (H. Kopetsky, R. Burla, G. Burla and others)

Mr. SCHULER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (W. Schneider, S. Schneider, W. Parisien and others)

During Oral Questions, Mr. Speaker interjected and requested that the words "the Premier lied to Manitobans" spoken by the Honourable Leader of the Official Opposition be withdrawn.

WHEREUPON Mr. PALLISTER withdrew his remarks.

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Ms. WIGHT and Messrs. WISHART, ALLUM, PEDERSEN and WIEBE made Members' Statements.

In accordance with Rule 27, Mr. EWASKO rose on a Grievance.

The House resolved into Committee of Supply. The Proceedings were interrupted at 5:00 p.m. with the understanding that the Committee of Supply would resume Friday, May 17, 2013 at 10:00 a.m.

The House then adjourned at 12:31 p.m. Friday, May 17, 2013 until 10:00 a.m. Tuesday, May 21, 2013.

Hon. Daryl REID, Speaker.