

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS No. 42

SECOND SESSION, FORTIETH LEGISLATURE

PRAYER 1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The following Bills were respectively read a First Time and had their purposes outlined:

 $(No.\ 40)$ – The Residential Tenancies Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur la location à usage d'habitation

(Hon. Mr. RONDEAU)

(No. 43) – The Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries Corporation Act and Liquor and Gaming Control Act/Loi sur la Société manitobaine des alcools et des loteries et Loi sur la réglementation des alcools et des jeux

(Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK)

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mrs. ROWAT – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (S. Ziprick, N. Ziprick, G. Gorda and others)

Mr. SCHULER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (M. Murray, J. Murray, B. Bird and others)

Following Oral Questions, Mr. Speaker made the following ruling:

During Oral Questions on May 7, 2013 the Honourable Official Opposition House Leader raised a point of order regarding the content of an answer given by the Honourable Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation.

Specifically the Honourable Official Opposition House Leader noted that the Minister had referenced an issue that the Speaker had previously taken under advisement – namely a matter of privilege raised by the same minister regarding the actions of the Honourable Member for Portage la Prairie and the Honourable Leader of the Official Opposition in relation to a protest at the site of the Portage Diversion. The Honourable Official Opposition House Leader noted that the Minister had already been cautioned on this issue and suggested that he be called to order.

The Honourable Government House Leader also spoke to the point of order before I took this matter under advisement to consult with Hansard.

In his remarks on page 1050 of Hansard for May 7, 2013, the Honourable Minister of Infrastructure and Transportation specifically mentioned the illegality of preventing the operation of the Portage Diversion, as well as referencing the role of members opposite and the Leader of the Opposition in that event.

In my opinion this does constitute a reference to the Matter I had under advisement at the time, something which is in contravention of our practices and something on which I had already cautioned the Minister. Therefore I would rule that the Honourable Official Opposition House Leader did have a point of order.

While the ruling on the original matter under advisement has now been delivered to the House, I would urge all Members to take note of this situation as an example. When I take matters such as this under advisement that effectively removes them as a topic of debate in this House until I deliver a ruling. Many Manitoba Speakers have upheld this same principle numerous times from this Chair, and I know that with this ruling I am continuing to uphold the traditions and practices of this important institution that we all serve. I would urge all honourable members to follow that example and to seek to do the same.

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Ms. BLADY, Mr. HELWER, Ms. CROTHERS, Mr. MAGUIRE and Hon. Mr. GERRARD made Members' Statements.

Mr. PEDERSEN moved the following Opposition Day Motion:

THAT the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba urge the Provincial Government to begin working co-operatively and respectfully with Manitoba Municipalities rather than in an adversarial and dictatorial fashion.

And a debate arising,

And Mr. Pedersen, Hon. Mr. Lemieux, Mr. Briese, Hon. Mr. Ashton, Messrs. Maguire and Caldwell, Mrs. Rowat, Hon. Mr. Bjornson, Messrs. Eichler, Ewasko and Cullen, Mrs. Driedger, Hon. Mr. Gerrard and Mr. Graydon having spoken,

And the Question being put. It was negatived, on the following division:

Wednesday, May 15, 2013

YEA

Briese Cullen Driedger Eichler Ewasko Friesen Gerrard Goertzen Graydon Helwer	MAGUIRE MITCHELSON PALLISTER PEDERSEN ROWAT SCHULER SMOOK STEFANSON WISHART
	NAY
ALLAN ALLUM ALTEMEYER ASHTON BJORNSON BLADY CALDWELL CHIEF CHOMIAK CROTHERS DEWAR GAUDREAU HOWARD IRVIN-ROSS JHA KOSTYSHYN	Lemieux Mackintosh Maloway Marcelino (Logan) Marcelino (Tyndall Park) Melnick Nevakshonoff Rondeau Saran Selby Selinger Struthers Swan Whitehead Wiebe Wight

The House then adjourned at 5:01 p.m. until 10:00 a.m. Thursday, May 16, 2013.

Hon. Daryl REID, Speaker.