

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS No. 34

SECOND SESSION, FORTIETH LEGISLATURE

PRAYER 1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

Hon. Mr. LEMIEUX moved and outlined its purposes thereof:

THAT Bill (No. 33) – The Municipal Modernization Act (Municipal Amalgamations)/Loi sur la modernisation des municipalités (fusions), be now read a First Time.

And the Question being put. It was agreed to, on the following division:

YEA

Allan	LEMIEUX
ALLUM	MACKINTOSH
ALTEMEYER	MARCELINO (Logan)
ASHTON	MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)
BJORNSON	MELNICK
BLADY	NEVAKSHONOFF
BRAUN	OSWALD
CALDWELL	RONDEAU
CHIEF	SARAN
Сноміак	SELBY
DEWAR	SELINGER
GAUDREAU	STRUTHERS
HOWARD	SWAN
IRVIN-ROSS	WHITEHEAD
ЈНА	WIEBE
Kostyshyn	WIGHT32

NAY

BRIESE	MAGUIRE	
CULLEN	MITCHELSON	
Driedger	PALLISTER	
EICHLER	PEDERSEN	
Ewasko	ROWAT	
FRIESEN	SCHULER	
GERRARD	SMOOK	
GOERTZEN	STEFANSON	
GRAYDON	WISHART	19
HELWER		

The following Bills were respectively read a First Time and had their purposes outlined:

(No. 36) – The Public Guardian and Trustee Act/Loi sur le tuteur et curateur public (Hon. Mr. SWAN)

(No. 37) – The Emergency Measures Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les mesures d'urgence

(Hon. Mr. ASHTON)

The following petitions were presented and read:

Mrs. ROWAT – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (R. Silversides, D. Buchan, S. Buchan and others)

Mr. PEDERSEN – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to request that the Minister of Local Government afford local governments the respect they deserve and reverse his decision to force municipalities with fewer than 1,000 constituents to amalgamate. (T. Watters, R. Teasdale, W. Lelond and others)

Mrs. DRIEDGER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba to urge the Provincial Government to not raise the PST without holding a provincial referendum. (D. Chatyrbok, C. Van Hove, M. Van Hove and others)

Hon. Mr. ASHTON, the Minister responsible for Emergency Measures, made a statement regarding the status of flooding in Manitoba.

Mr. EICHLER and, by leave, Hon. Mr. GERRARD commented on the statement.

During Oral Questions, Hon. Mr. GERRARD rose on a Matter of Privilege regarding the answers provided by the First Minister in question period and moved:

THAT this matter be referred to a Committee of the Legislature for consideration.

And Hon. Mr. GERRARD and Hon. Mr. SELINGER having spoken.

WHEREUPON Mr. Speaker ruled there was no Matter of Privilege.

Pursuant to Rule 26(1), Messrs. CULLEN, MALOWAY, GRAYDON and MARCELINO (Tyndall Park) made Members' Statements.

In accordance to Rule 28(3), the Government House Leader announced that an Opposition Day Motion will be considered today.

Mr. GOERTZEN moved the following Opposition Day Motion:

That the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba urge the Provincial Government to find savings and efficiencies within government rather than raise the Retail Sales Tax (known as the Provincial Sales Tax) from 7% to 8%.

And a debate arising,

And Mr. GOERTZEN, Hon. Mr. STRUTHERS, Mr. PALLISTER, Hon. Ms. OSWALD, Mrs. DRIEDGER, Hon. Ms. ALLAN, Mr. SCHULER, Hon. Ms. HOWARD, Mrs. STEFANSON, Hon. Mr. CHOMIAK and Mr. HELWER having spoken,

And the Question being put. It was negatived, on the following division:

YEA

Briese	MAGUIRE	
CULLEN	MITCHELSON	
Driedger	PALLISTER	
EICHLER	PEDERSEN	
EWASKO	ROWAT	
FRIESEN	SCHULER	
Gerrard	SMOOK	
GOERTZEN	STEFANSON	
GRAYDON	WISHART	19
HELWER		

Wednesday, May 1, 2013

NAY

ALLUM ALTEMEYER ALTEMEYER ASHTON BJORNSON BJORNSON BLADY BRAUN CALDWELL CHIEF CHOMIAK DEWAR GAUDREAU G	ALLAN	MACKINTOSH
ASHTON BJORNSON BJORNSON BLADY BRAUN CALDWELL CHIEF CHOMIAK DEWAR GAUDREAU SELBY DEWAR GAUDREAU HOWARD IRVIN-ROSS JHA KOSTYSHYN MELNICK MARCELINO (Tyndall Park) MELNICK RONDEAU SEVAN EVAKSHONOFF SARAN SELBY SELBY SELINGER STRUTHERS WHITEHEAD JHA WIEBE KOSTYSHYN MELNICK MELNICK SEVAN SWAN WEVAKSHONOFF SARAN SELBY SELBY SELINGER STRUTHERS WHITEHEAD JHA WIEBE	ALLUM	MALOWAY
BJORNSON BLADY NEVAKSHONOFF BRAUN CALDWELL CHIEF SARAN CHOMIAK DEWAR GAUDREAU SELBY DEWAR GAUDREAU HOWARD IRVIN-ROSS JHA KOSTYSHYN MELNICK NEVAKSHONOFF NEVAKSHONOFF NEVAKSHONOFF NEVAKSHONOFF NEVAKSHONOFF NEVAKSHONOFF NEVAKSHONOFF NEVAKSHONOFF NEVAKSHONOFF SARAN SELBY SELBY SELINGER STRUTHERS WHITEHEAD WIEBE KOSTYSHYN WIGHT	ALTEMEYER	MARCELINO (Logan)
BLADY BRAUN CALDWELL CHIEF SARAN CHOMIAK DEWAR GAUDREAU SELBY DEWAR GAUDREAU STRUTHERS HOWARD IRVIN-ROSS JHA KOSTYSHYN NEVAKSHONOFF SWAN NEVAKSHONOFF SARAN SELBY SELBY SELINGER STRUTHERS WHITEHEAD JHA WIEBE KOSTYSHYN 33	ASHTON	MARCELINO (Tyndall Park)
BRAUN CALDWELL CHIEF SARAN CHOMIAK DEWAR GAUDREAU STRUTHERS HOWARD IRVIN-ROSS JHA KOSTYSHYN SWAN OSWALD RONDEAU RONDEAU SARAN SELBY SELINGER SELINGER STRUTHERS WHITEHEAD JHA WIEBE STRUTHEAD WIGHT 33	BJORNSON	MELNICK
CALDWELL CHIEF SARAN CHOMIAK SELBY DEWAR GAUDREAU HOWARD IRVIN-ROSS JHA KOSTYSHYN RONDEAU RONDEAU SARAN SELBY SELINGER SELINGER SWAN WHITHERS WHITHERS WHITHERAD JHA WIEBE SARAN SELBY WEBE SARAN SELBY SELINGER SHUTHERS WHITHERS WHITHERS JHA WIEBE SARAN SELBY SELINGER SHUTHERS WHITHERS WHITHERS JHA WIEBE SARAN SELBY SELINGER SELINGER SHUTHERS WHITHERS WHITHERS JHA WIEBE SARAN SELBY SELINGER SHUTHERS WHITHERS JHA WIEBE SARAN SELBY SELINGER SELINGER SWAN SHUTHERS WHITHERS JHA WIEBE SARAN SELBY SELINGER SHUTHERS WHITHERS JHA WIEBE SARAN SELBY SELINGER SHUTHERS WHITHERS JHA WIEBE SARAN SELINGER SELINGER SWAN SHUTHERS WHITHERS JHA WIEBE SARAN SELINGER SELINGER SWAN SHUTHERS JHA WIEBE SHUTHERS SARAN SELINGER SHUTHERS SWAN SHUTHERS JHA WIEBE SHUTHERS SHUTHER	BLADY	NEVAKSHONOFF
CHIEF SARAN CHOMIAK SELBY DEWAR SELINGER GAUDREAU STRUTHERS HOWARD SWAN IRVIN-ROSS WHITEHEAD JHA WIEBE KOSTYSHYN WIGHT	BRAUN	OSWALD
CHOMIAK DEWAR SELBY DEWAR GAUDREAU STRUTHERS HOWARD IRVIN-ROSS WHITEHEAD JHA WIEBE KOSTYSHYN WIGHT	CALDWELL	RONDEAU
DEWAR GAUDREAU HOWARD IRVIN-ROSS JHA KOSTYSHYN SELINGER STRUTHERS WHITEHEAD WIEBE WIGHT	CHIEF	SARAN
GAUDREAU STRUTHERS HOWARD SWAN IRVIN-ROSS WHITEHEAD JHA WIEBE KOSTYSHYN WIGHT 33	Сноміак	SELBY
HOWARD SWAN IRVIN-ROSS WHITEHEAD JHA WIEBE KOSTYSHYN WIGHT	DEWAR	SELINGER
IRVIN-ROSS WHITEHEAD JHA WIEBE KOSTYSHYN WIGHT	GAUDREAU	STRUTHERS
JHA WIEBE KOSTYSHYN WIGHT 33	HOWARD	SWAN
Kostyshyn Wight33	IRVIN-ROSS	WHITEHEAD
	Јна	Wiebe
_	Kostyshyn	WIGHT33
LEMIEUX	LEMIEUX	

The House then adjourned at 5:01 p.m. until 10:00 a.m. Thursday, May 2, 2013.

Hon. Daryl REID, Speaker.