



### PRAYERS

# 1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

The following petitions were presented:

Mr. SCHULER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba request the Minister of Education to reverse the decision to split the Transcona-Springfield School Division and allow it to remain as a whole or to consider immediately convening the Board of Reference to decide the matter. (D. Pastetnik, S. Smith, L. Smith and others)

Mr. MARTINDALE – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba pass an Act respecting the merger of three Congregations to form one continuing Congregation to be named Congregation Etz Chayim. (M. Melnyk, N. Freedman, R. Stokoloff and others)

The following petition was read and received:

Mr. SCHULER – Legislative Assembly of Manitoba request the Minister of Education to reverse the decision to split the Transcona-Springfield School Division and allow it to remain as a whole or to consider immediately convening the Board of Reference to decide the matter. (L. Kalyniuk, L. Douglas, C. Jackson and others)

Ms. KORZENIOWSKI, Chairperson of the Standing Committee on Public Utilities and Natural Resources, presented its Second Report, which was read as follows:

### Meetings:

Your Committee met on the following occasions:

- Monday, June 18, 2001 at 10:00 a.m.
- Monday, July 8, 2002 at 10:00 a.m.

All meetings were held in Room 255 of the Legislative Building.

### Matters Under Consideration:

- Annual Report of the Manitoba Hydro Electric Board for the year ended March 31, 2000
- Annual Report of the Manitoba Hydro Electric Board for the year ended March 31, 2001

## **Committee Membership:**

Substitutions received prior to commencement of June 18, 2001 meeting:

- Mr. GILLESHAMMER for Mr. HELWER
- Mr. LOEWEN for Mr. FAURSCHOU
- Mr. REIMER for Mrs. STEFANSON
- Mr. TWEED for Mr. PENNER (Emerson)
- Mr. JENNISSEN for Mr. AGLUGUB
- Hon. Mr. SELINGER for Hon. Mr. SMITH (Brandon West)
- Mr. REID for Mr. RONDEAU

Substitutions received prior to commencement of July 8, 2002 meeting:

- Mr. LOEWEN for Mr. DERKACH
- Mrs. STEFANSON for Mr. FAURSCHOU
- Mr. PENNER (Steinbach) for Mr. HELWER
- Hon. Mr. SELINGER for Hon. Mr. SMITH (Brandon West)
- Hon. Mr. ASHTON for Ms. ASPER
- Mr. STRUTHERS for Ms. ALLAN

### **Officials Speaking on Record:**

• Mr. Bob Brennan, President and Chief Executive Officer

## **Reports Considered and Adopted:**

Your Committee considered:

- Annual Report of the Manitoba Hydro Electric Board for the year ended March 31, 2000
- Annual Report of the Manitoba Hydro Electric Board for the year ended March 31, 2001

and has adopted the same as presented.

On motion of Ms. KORZENIOWSKI, the Report of the Committee was received.

By leave, during Oral Questions, the House reverted to "Ministerial Statements and Tabling of Reports".

Hon. Mr. DOER, the Honourable First Minister made a statement regarding the sudden passing of Mr. Sidney Spivak, former member of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba,

Mr. MURRAY and, by leave, Hon. Mr. GERRARD and Mr. ENNS commented on the statement.

By leave, it was agreed that the House would adjourn at 3:30 p.m. on Wednesday, July 10, 2002.

Pursuant to Rule 23(1), Mr. PENNER (Emerson), Ms. KORZENIOWSKI, Messrs. PENNER (Steinbach), JENNISSEN and CUMMINGS made Members' Statements.

The Order of the Day being read for consideration of Bill (No. 14) – The Public Schools Modernization Act (Public Schools Act Amended)/Loi sur la modernisation des écoles publiques (modification de la Loi sur les écoles publiques), as amended and reported from the Standing Committee on Law Amendments, the House resumed the Interrupted Debate on the Proposed Amendment of Hon. Mr. CALDWELL:

*THAT Bill 14 be amended by adding the following as section 24.1:* 

### Continuity in education

24.1(1) Despite the formation of The River East Transcona School Division,

(a) until June 30, 2005, a child who was or would have been a resident pupil of the former Transcona-Springfield School Division No. 12 continues to have the same rights of access to schools which were located in that division as they had on June 30, 2002; and

(b) after June 30, 2005, a resident pupil of The Sunrise School Division who was enrolled in a school in the River East Transcona School Division under clause (a) will be deemed to have been enrolled in that school under the schools of choice policy, and the schools of choice policy applies in respect of that pupil.

### **Definitions**

24.1(2) For the purposes of subsection (1),

"The River East Transcona School Division" means The River East Transcona School Division formed under the School Division and School District Amalgamation (2002) Regulation, Manitoba Regulation 61/02; (« Division scolaire River East Transcona »)

"schools of choice" means the schools of choice policy established under sections 58.3 and 58.4; (« politique sur le choix d'une école »)

"The Sunrise School Division" means The Sunrise School Division formed under the School Division and School District Amalgamation (2002) Regulation, Manitoba Regulation 61/02; (« Division scolaire Sunrise »)

**"Transcona-Springfield School Division No. 12"** means The Transcona-Springfield School Division No. 12 under the **School Divisions and Districts Establishment Regulation**, Manitoba Regulation 109/93. (« Division scolaire de Transcona-Springfield n° 12 »)

And the debate continuing on the amendment,

And Mrs. MITCHELSON, Messrs. FAURSCHOU, MAGUIRE and GILLESHAMMER having spoken,

And the Question being put on the amendment. It was agreed to.

Hon. Mr. GERRARD then moved:

THAT Bill 14 be amended by replacing section 27 with the following:

### Coming into force

27(1) This Act, except sections 2, 5, 7, 20 and 21, comes into force on the day it receives royal assent.

### *Coming into force: sections 2, 5, 7, 20 and 21* 27(2) Sections 2, 5, 7, 20 and 21 come into force on January 1, 2004.

And a debate arising,

And Hon. Mr. GERRARD and Mr. SCHULER having spoken,

And the Question being put on the amendment. It was negatived, on the following division:

#### YEA

DACQUAY	Loewen
Derkach	MAGUIRE
Driedger	MITCHELSON
<b>D</b> YCK	MURRAY
Enns	Pitura
Faurschou	Reimer
Gerrard	Rocan
GILLESHAMMER	SCHULER
Hawranik	STEFANSON
LAURENDEAU	TWEED

## NAY

AGLUGUB ASHTON ASPER CERILLI CHOMIAK DEWAR DOER FRIESEN JENNISSEN KORZENIOWSKI	MARTINDALE MCGIFFORD NEVAKSHONOFF REID ROBINSON RONDEAU SALE SANTOS SCHELLENBERG SELINGER
LATHLIN LEMIEUX	SELINGER SMITH (Brandon West) STRUTHERS
Mackintosh Maloway	WOWCHUK

Mr. NEVAKSHONOFF moved:

Resolution No. 22: Conservation Districts

WHEREAS the importance of clean water and proper conservation has been a priority for the Provincial Government; and

WHEREAS there are thirteen conservation districts in the province covering over fifty per cent of agro-Manitoba, all of which practice watershed based, sustainable soil and water management; and

WHEREAS the Provincial Government has just increased funding to conservation districts for integrated watershed management, an increase of about 20 per cent over the previous year; and

WHEREAS these funds will be used for water management, soil management, eco-tourism, wildlife habitat, riparian areas, and water quality; and

WHEREAS funding will also be used for the development of three new conservation districts compromising 12 rural municipalities, one city, one town, and two villages.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba urge the Provincial Government to consider continuing its actions that will help manage our resources for future generations of Manitobans.

And a debate arising,

And Mr. NEVAKSHONOFF having spoken,

And Mr. FAURSCHOU speaking at 6:00 p.m. The debate was allowed to remain in his name.

The House then adjourned at 6:00 p.m. until 1:30 p.m. Wednesday, July 10, 2002.

Hon. George HICKES, Speaker.