

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF MANITOBA

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS No. 24

THIRD SESSION, THIRTY-SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

PRAYERS 1:30 O'CLOCK P.M.

How Mr. LATHI Di grassonto di
Hon. Mr. LATHLIN presented: Supplementary Information for Legislative Review 2002-2003 – Departmental Expenditure Estimates – Conservation (Sessional Paper No. 125)
By leave, Hon. Ms. BARRETT introduced Bill (No. 5) – The Workers Compensation Amendment Act/Loi modifiant la Loi sur les accidents du travail, and outlined the purposes thereof, it was read a First Time.
By leave, the House reverted to "Ministerial Statements and Tabling of Reports".
Hon. Ms. WOWCHUK, the Minister of Agriculture made a statement regarding the new U.S. Farm Bill that proposes to spend almost \$73.5 billion dollars more over ten years in support of the U.S. agriculture industry,
Mr. PENNER (Emerson) and, by leave, Hon. Mr. GERRARD commented on the statement.
Pursuant to Rule 23(1), Mr. SCHULER, Ms. ASPER, Mrs. SMITH (Fort Garry), Mr. RONDEAU and Hon. Mr. GERRARD made Members' Statements.
The House resumed the Interrupted Debate on the Proposed Motion of Hon. Mr. SELINGER:
THAT this House approve in general the budgetary policy of the government.

THAT the motion be amended by deleting all the words after "House" and substituting the following:

And on the Proposed Amendment of Mr. MURRAY

therefore regrets this budget ignores the present and future needs of Manitobans by:

- (a) failing to offer Manitobans any vision for an innovative, successful and sustainable future;
- (b) failing to provide a long-term personal income tax reduction strategy that addresses the fact that middle-income Manitobans are the highest taxed west of Quebec;
- (c) failing to provide a sustainable provincial spending plan;
- (d) failing to provide Manitobans with timely disclosure of the \$150 million retroactive tax imposed on Manitoba Hydro in order to avoid a deficit in the 2001/02 budget year;
- (e) failing to provide an economic development plan to provide sustainable economic growth for Manitoba;
- (f) failing to provide any incentive for young people to remain in Manitoba despite recent information showing that Manitoba suffered a net inter-provincial migration loss of 4,549 people in 2001, up 47 percent from the previous year; and
- (g) failing to provide adequate supports to Manitoba's agricultural sector.

As a consequence, the Government has thereby lost the confidence of this House and the people of Manitoba.

And the debate continuing on the amendment,

And Mr. Faurschou, Hon. Mr. Caldwell, Mr. Helwer, Hon. Ms. Friesen, Mr. Dyck, Hon. Mr. Doer, Mr. Penner (Steinbach) and Hon. Mr. Selinger having spoken,

And the Question being put on the amendment. It was negatived, on the following division:

YEA

CUMMINGS	Maguire
DACQUAY	MITCHELSON
Driedger	Murray
DYCK	PENNER (Emerson)
Enns	PENNER (Steinbach)
FAURSCHOU	PITURA
Gerrard	REIMER
GILLESHAMMER	ROCAN
HAWRANIK	SCHULER
HELWER	SMITH (Fort Garry)
Laurendeau	STEFANSON
Loewen	TWEED24

NAY

AGLUGUB MALOWAY MARTINDALE **A**LLAN **McGifford** ASHTON **ASPER** Мінусник **BARRETT NEVAKSHONOFF** CALDWELL REID **CERILLI** ROBINSON **CHOMIAK** RONDEAU **DEWAR** SALE **DOER S**ANTOS **FRIESEN SCHELLENBERG JENNISSEN** SELINGER SMITH (Brandon West) **KORZENIOWSKI**

LATHLIN STRUTHERS

LEMIEUX WOWCHUK......31

MACKINTOSH

And the Question being put on the main motion. It was agreed to, on the following division:

YEA

AGLUGUB MALOWAY ALLAN MARTINDALE **ASHTON McGifford ASPER** Мінусник BARRETT **NEVAKSHONOFF CALDWELL** REID **CERILLI** ROBINSON CHOMIAK RONDEAU **DEWAR** SALE **DOER SANTOS FRIESEN SCHELLENBERG** SELINGER **JENNISSEN** KORZENIOWSKI SMITH (Brandon West) **STRUTHERS** LATHLIN WOWCHUK......31 **LEMIEUX**

NAY

Cummings Dacquay Driedger Dyck Enns Faurschou Gerrard Gilleshammer Hawranik Helwer Laurendeau Loewen	MAGUIRE MITCHELSON MURRAY PENNER (Emerson) PENNER (Steinbach) PITURA REIMER ROCAN SCHULER SMITH (Fort Garry) STEFANSON TWEED
Hon. Mr. MACKINTOSH moved: THAT this House do now adjourn. And the Question being put. It was agreed to.	
The House then adjourned at 5:41 p.m. until 10	0:00 a.m. Thursday, May 2, 2002.

Hon. George HICKES, Speaker.