

Hon. Myrna Driedger

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Manitoba Speakers

Since 1871, 30 speakers have served the Manitoba Legislature.

YEARS SERVED	NAME	CONSTITUENCY
1871 - 72	Hon. Joseph Royal	St. Francis Xavier, West
1873 - 74	Hon. Curtis Bird	St. Paul's
1875 - 79	Hon. Joseph Dubuc	St. Norbert
1879 - 79	Hon. John Wright Sifton	St. Clements
1880 - 82	Hon. Gilbert Mcmicken	Cartier
1883 - 86	Hon. Alexander Murray	Assiniboia
1887 - 88	Hon. David Glass	St. Clements
1888 - 90	Hon. William Winram	Manitou
1891 - 95	Hon. Samuel Jacob Jackson	Rockwood
1895 - 99	Hon. Finlay Mcnaughton Young	Killarney
1900 - 03	Hon. Wilhelm Hespeler	Rosen Feldt
1904 - 16	Hon. James Johnson	Turtle Mountain
1916 - 22	Hon. James B. Baird	Mountain
1923 - 36	Hon. Philippe Adjutor Talbot	La Verendrye
1937 - 49	Hon. Robert Hawkins	Dauphin
1950 - 50	Hon. Wallace Conrad Miller	Rhineland
1950 - 58	Hon. Nicholas Volodymir Bachynsky	Fisher
1958 - 63	Hon. Abram William Harrison	Rock Lake
1963 - 66	Hon. Thelma Bessie Forbes	Cypress
1966 - 69	Hon. James H. Bilton	Swan River
1969 - 70	Hon. Ben Hanuschak	Burrows
1971 - 77	Hon. Peter Fox	Kildonan
1977 - 81	Hon. Harry Edward Graham	Birtle-Russell
1982 - 86	Hon. Derek James Walding	St. Vital
1986 - 88	Hon. Myrna A. Phillips	Wolseley
1988 - 95	Hon. Denis Rocan	Gladstone
1995 - 99	Hon. Louise Dacquay	Seine River
1999 - 2011	Hon. George Hickes	Point Douglas
2011 - 2016	Hon. Daryl Reid	Transcona
2016 - Present	Hon. Myrna Driedger	Charleswood

A portrait of all past Speakers hangs in the Manitoba Speakers' Gallery on the second floor of the Legislative Building. Tradition maintains that a Speaker's portrait shall only be hung when he or she is no longer a sitting Member of the Legislature.

Hon. Myrna Driedger Speaker of the Legislative Assembly

Myrna's path in life is rooted in her strong desire to make a difference. Having served as a nurse, a leader in the area of missing and exploited children, and as an elected Member of the Legislative Assembly in Manitoba, Myrna's many roles have reflected this calling to help make her community a better place.

Myrna was elected Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba on May 16, 2016. She has held a number of diverse critic roles in the past including that of Interim Leader of the PC Party of Manitoba, Deputy Leader, Critic for Health, Status of Women, Finance, Civil Service & Crown Corporations Council, Child & Family Services, and Education. During her first year she was the Legislative Assistant to the Minister of Health. She has been a member of the Public Accounts Committee and the Standing Committees of WCB & Children's Advocate.

Myrna was also the chair of the Northern Lights Committee of Caucus which worked towards the development of an economic strategy for northern Manitoba.

Myrna has had the rare success of having five Private Members' Bills passed.

In 2011, Myrna was elected for a 3 year term as Chair of the Canadian Region of Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP) by her peers from across the country. In September, 2012, Myrna was also elected the Vice-Chair CWP International. CWP works for better representation of women in legislatures throughout Canada and the Commonwealth as well as strategizes and acts on gender-related issues in Canada and internationally.

Before entering public life, Myrna had a successful and rewarding career as a registered nurse with experience in general duty, nursing education, quality assurance, medical and nursing research, patient education, and nursing administration. Her nursing experience has led her to have a passionate voice for a better health care system.

As President and Executive Director of Child Find Manitoba, Myrna was a leading advocate for the protection of children. Her fierce determination and leadership were the driving force behind the early development of Child Find Manitoba, which as the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, is now recognized across Canada as a key player in child protection issues.

Myrna's professional achievements have earned her recognition in the "Canadian Who's Who". For service to her community, Myrna was presented the Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal as well as being made an honourary Rotarian. She is a member of Women of Winnipeg, an organization of women leaders identified as leaders in the community.

Not afraid to take on a challenge, Myrna has been a strong voice for health, education, justice, and economic issues, and is a champion of youth, seniors' and women's issues. Her persistence, as well as her strong belief in the power and ability of women, led to the establishment of the Nellie McClung Foundation and the monument of Nellie and the Famous Five on the grounds of the Manitoba Legislature. She currently is a Board Member of the Foundation and was the Co-Chair of The Centennial Gala: Celebrating 100 Years of Manitoba Women's Right to Vote.

Myrna and her husband, Hal live in Charleswood. She enjoys the company of friends, gardening, reading, photography, horseback riding, and the occasional round of golf.