Education and Early Childhood Learning



Certificate Review Committee

Chairperson

Allan Hawkins, Winnipeg¹

Members

Sandra Drzystek, Winnipeg¹
Christine Crow, Winnipeg²
Kelly Wadelius, The Pas²
Frank Reeves, Dugald²
Patricia Wiebe, Altona³
Justin Rempel, Winnipeg³
Holly Hunter, Winnipeg³
Jason Young, Neepawa⁴
Elaine Eagan, Winnipeg⁴

Alternate Members

Winston Blakey, Winnipeg²
Morgan Whiteway, Winnipeg³
Cathy Tymko, Beausejour⁴

Department of Education Member¹
Manitoba Teachers' Society Members²
Manitoba School Boards Association Members³
The Association of School Superintendents⁴

Mandate:

The Certificate Review Committee is a statutory body established under Section 5 of The Education Administration Act. The Committee's main function is to review all cases in which a teacher's teaching certificate has been referred to it by the Minister for any cause that the Minister deems sufficient.

Authority:

The Education Administration Act

Responsibilities:

The Committee investigates and makes written recommendations to the Minister on matters relating to review and/or suspension of teaching certificates. The Minister is not compelled to accept the recommendation; although historically he or she usually does.

When necessary the Committee will hold a hearing with respect to a matter referred to it, and must notify the teacher in question, in writing, of the time, date and place of the hearing. The members of the Committee, for the purpose of carrying out an investigation of any matter referred to them, have all the powers and protection of commissioners appointed under Part V of The Manitoba Evidence Act.

The Committee must submit a written report to the Minister subsequent to each hearing, which must include recommendations as to what action, if any, is to be taken in respect of the matter.

Membership:

Appointed by the Minister of Education, the Committee consists of:

- 3 persons nominated by The Manitoba Teachers' Society, plus 3 alternate members;
- 3 persons nominated by The Manitoba School Boards Association, plus 3 alternate members;
- 2 persons nominated by The Manitoba Association of School Superintendents, plus
 2 alternate members; and
- 2 persons from the Department of Education, plus 2 alternate members.

Quorum:

Five of the members

Length of Terms:

Two years, and may be appointed for additional two-year terms.

The Minister designates one member to chair. An additional departmental staff member is appointed as secretary to the committee and is not a voting member. There are no limits on reappointments.

Desirable Experience:

There is no formal educational or experience requirement; however potential members should be able to demonstrate an understanding of the issues being brought before the Committee.

An effective committee member must be able to read complex written material, analyze written and verbal information in order to ascertain facts, and apply relevant legislation to this written and verbal information.

Board members:

- must be able to communicate verbally and have the ability to ask questions using open ended, non-judgmental language;
- have active listening skills;
- be able to read and interpret policies/legislation and how it applies to the situation;

- use plain language;
- adhere to a high degree of confidentiality; and
- have the ability to make decisions in a fair and unbiased manner.

Time Commitment:

Committee hearings are scheduled on an as-needed basis. Hearings usually last approximately ½ day. The committee also meets at least once every two years for professional development.

Meetings:

Frequency: Scheduled on as needed basis. 4 per year on average/ Location: Virtual. Return to in-person will be discussed in future.

Duration:

Remuneration:

No remuneration.

All members are reimbursed for out-of-pocket expenses associated with attending the hearings.